Affirm This

Sigh.  It’s been a month since I last posted.  And, as I normally do when I fall behind in accomplishing what I set out to, I am beating myself up about it.  The difference between how I beat myself up now and how I used to beat myself up lies in the response I have to my self-flagellation.  Now I beat myself up, I catch myself, and… (confession)… I repeat a mantra to myself. 

Okay, yes, I said it.  I have become someone who repeats mantras to herself.  I prefer the word ‘mantra’ to ‘affirmation’ because somehow it doesn’t sound like it was born out of therapy.  Which, by the way, it totally was. 

I am a believer in therapy, but I never embraced the affirmation craze.  With Stuart Smalley, The Secret and the phenomenon of the positive thinking movement, the idea of being one of those people made me throw up a little in my mouth.  What is it about hyper-positive people that makes you hate them?  I have a friend who repeatedly says the phrase “because I’m awesome” and I want to poke her in her awesome eye. But why is the idea of being kind to yourself totally hilarious?  And it absolutely still is.  I still catch myself beating myself up, saying a mantra, and then beating myself up for being a mantra-sayer. 

I had a therapist tell me once that I need to find a way to have more compassion for myself.  Something in that articulation of behavior struck me as a beautiful concept.  Compassion isn’t a word that we normally associate with ourselves.  But I imagine, if more people like me (driven, over-committed, demanding city-dwellers) focused on having more compassion for ourselves, compassion for others would come more naturally.  I like the relaxed nature of the phrase, and that it’s not about inflating one’s self-confidence.  Like, the point is to just take it easy on everyone, you included.  Give the world a break.

PS. This whole post was inspired by this outdated video that my co-workers, in our morning gossip session, couldn’t believe I hadn’t yet seen.  Considering how old Jessica is by now, I’d hate to think she’s already been swallowed by the apathy that is teenagerdom.

This entry was posted in Musings, Video. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

