Shining on Pit Bulls

On a listserve the other day, I stumbled across a blog announcement that sounded familiar

“I’ve been fed up by the depressing, pessimistic stories being put out into the world by the media. So I’ve started a new section of my blog called SHINE. It’s meant to be a repository for uplifting stories about everyday people who are following their passions. Maybe you’ll be inspired to follow in their footsteps or share their stories with your friends. That’s why I’m calling this page SHINE. I hope it will spread some light and warmth.”

My interest was piqued by the first sentence, which reminded me of my own motivation. Same inspiration, different directions.  Wanting a little camaraderie as I dip my toes into the blogosphere, I reached out to the author to let her know that I’d write a post about her blog.  So I poked around this new Shine project of hers looking for an example story that struck me, and within a few clicks I found it.

Of course, any story about cruelty to animals and I’m done.  I was so touched by the post guest-written by Aleksandra, about her journey toward being a pit bull advocate and foster-owner.  I am a lover of most animals and have been wanting a dog for some time, as I sobbingly gave my cat to a friend when my very allergic boyfriend moved in.  My cat Sammy, pictured here, was a rescue with a bum leg and like a lot of the dogs Aleksandra talks about, was nonetheless a good-natured little guy and made me smile incessantly.

As for dogs on the horizon, alas, we don’t have a family yet.  We’re still in that place where we’re not sure we can handle the commitment; our lives may not be ready for it, and when we do it we want to do it right.  But I dream about adopting a couple of dogs, like Angie and Brad dreamed about adopting a gaggle of babies (and probably still do).  If you’re into dogs, would foster or adopt and want to read more about Aleksandra’s experiences as a pit-girl, her blog is called Love and a Six-Foot Leash.  I have friends with an adorable rescue pit named Coco, so I can attest to their awesomeness.

This entry was posted in Everyday Beauty, Other People's Stuff. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Shining on Pit Bulls

  1. jacquelincangro says:

    Hi Devon! Thank you so much for talking about Shine and for being an advocate for pitties! Anything we can do to spread more positive stories, the better. And, of course, if you or anyone you know should be featured on Shine, please let me know.
    Thanks!
    Jackie

Leave a Reply

